The Dixie Hummingbirds & the Little Wonders – FRC208


SKU: FRC208 Categories: , , ,


Sunday morning at the Brandywine Mountain Music Convention was always special. Ola Belle Reed first introduced us to the Little Wonders, a gospel group originally formed in 1941 from Havre de Grace, Maryland. The Little Wonders broadcast on AM radio each Sunday from their church and specialized in older-style “jubilee” singing. In later years we engaged the legendary Dixie Hummingbirds gospel quartet residing in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania. The Dixie Hummingbirds first formed in 1928 in South Carolina and later became well-known, appearing circa 1942 at New York’s Café Society club alongside the Golden Gate Quartet and Billie Holiday. Though both groups used one guitar, they sang essentially in a cappella style. Read more about them at and from Jerry Zolten’s book, “Great God A’Mighty! The Dixie Hummingbirds”. – Carl Goldstein, the Brandywine Friends of Old-Time Music

Additional Notes: The Dixie Hummingbirds

Beaming from Heaven:

Track List

FRC208– The Dixie Hummingbirds & the Little Wonders

  1. Ola Belle Reed’s Introduction (0:46)
  2. John the Revelator (2:40)
  3. My Soul’s Going to Live with God (2:19)
  4. These Bones Shall Rise Again (2:53)
  5. Beams of Heaven as I Go (2:48)
  6. Its Going to Rain (2:55)
  7. Who are we? The Dixie Hummingbirds! (2:41)
  8. Swing Low (2:23)
  9. Nobody Knows the Trouble that I’ve seen (4:36)
  10. Jesus is coming soon (5:52)
  11. Standing by the Bedside of an Invalid (2:22)
  12. Beaming from Heaven (3:14)
  13. After the Rapture, Where Will You Be? (3:14)
  14. This World is Just a Dressing Room (5:16)
  15. Don’t Give Up, Just Hold On (8:56)
  16. I’m So Glad (3:23)
  17. Help Me (7:48)
  18. Let it alone (5:00)