Lee Sexton & Family – FRC105


SKU: FRC105 Categories: , , , , ,


Lee Sexton, who plays in both two-finger picking style and clawhammer style banjo on this recording, was born in 1927 and still lives in Letcher County, near Whitesburg, Kentucky. When he was eight years old he cleared a field for a week to earn a dollar to buy a homemade fretless banjo mounted with a groundhog skin. His father and uncle Morgan helped him to learn to play his new instrument. As a grown man, Lee worked five days a week in the mines and played house parties, bean stringings, and corn shuckings on weekends. Lee can be heard on June Appal CD “Whoa Mule.” He also played in a square dance scene in the 1980 film “Coal Miner’s Daughter” and in the 2003 film “Searching for the Wrong-Eyed Jesus.” He appears on this CD both solo and accompanied by his son and daughter-in-law, Phil and Debby Sexton. Sadly, Phil was killed in an automobile accident in the late 1990s.

Track List

FRC105 – Lee Sexton and Family

  1. Lee’s Intro. Banjo Tuning for track 2
  2. Cumberland Gap
  3. Shady Grove
  4. Little Birdie
  5. Banjo Tuning for Tracks 4 and 6
  6. Rye Whiskey
  7. John Henry
  8. Steel Guitar Rag
  9. Single Girl
  10. Fox Chase
  11. Last of Calahan
  12. Groundhog
  13. Lee’s Tune
  14. Lee Boy Blues
  15. Sweet Sunny South
  16. Arthur Smith Breakdown
  17. Down South Blues (Solo)
  18. Down South Blues (Band)
  19. Pretty Polly
  20. Gonna Lay Down My Old Guitar
  21. Whoa Mule
  22. Nubbin Ridge
  23. Sally Goodin
  24. Sourwood Mountain
  25. Wild Bill Jones
  26. Leather Britches
  27. Charming Betsy
  28. Tennessee Breakdown
  29. Free Little Bird
  30. Pretty Little Darling
  31. Walking Cane
  32. Angeline the Baker
  33. Wheel Hoss
  34. Down in Town
  35. The Danville Girl